May 30, 2018

New Trustee Appointed to VIA Board


 Akeem Brown joins new and returning appointees from City, County


Akeem Brown has been appointed to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees by the Bexar County Commissioners Court. He joins recent new appointees Jordana Decamps Mathews (Bexar County), Brian C. Dillard (SA City Council), Ezra A. Johnson (SA City Council), Amanda Merck (SA City Council), Louis R. Cooper (Greater Bexar County Council of Cities), and Marina Alderete Gavito (Bexar County) on the Board. The City of San Antonio also re-appointed incumbent Trustees Bob Comeaux and Patricia Y. Rodriguez.


“Trustee Brown brings with him valuable community, non-profit, and government experience,” VIA Board Chair Hope Andrade said. “We look forward to his innovative ideas and input, as the Board of Trustees continues to work toward the advancement VIA’s vision to connect our region and enhance quality of life through public transit options.”

Brown is the director of operations for San Antonio for the Growth on the Eastside (SAGE), where he manages a comprehensive array of economic development programs and services. Prior to joining SAGE, he served in several public service capacities, including director of communications and policy for City Council District 2, and senior management analyst for the City of San Antonio Office of EastPoint. And in his hometown of New York, he served as communications advisor in the Office of the Mayor in the City of New York, and worked on several of Mayor Bill de Blasio’s special projects and initiatives.


He earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from South Carolina State University, and a master’s degree in public policy from New York University. He serves on several boards in San Antonio, including the Luminaria Arts Festival, The Scott Davis YMCA, and the New Leaders Council. Since arriving in San Antonio, Brown has dedicated his time to advocacy, facilitation, coalition-building, and stabilization around the community development on the Eastside.


The 11-member VIA Board of Trustees meets monthly to discuss policy issues and hear comments from the community. VIA Board meetings are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month.


VIA connects our community to opportunity, supports economic vitality, and enhances quality of life throughout our region. VIA, recognized by the Texas Transit Association in 2018 as the Outstanding Metro Transit Authority of the year, serves 14 member cities and the unincorporated areas of Bexar County, operating seven days a week on 92 routes. Last year, VIA provided nearly 40 million rides across the region. VIA’s AAA bond rating reflects the organization’s sound management and financial practices. Visit for more information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Our Clients

Web Design by JTARA

 2019 Publishing Company

© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with