May 8, 2019



 (L-R)- Greg Brockhouse, Alicia Perry, Keith Toney


San Antonio – Is it true that history repeats itself?    If you look at the election history in San Antonio, it is safe to say with 97,000 to 98,000 voters in the upcoming run-off, the City of San Antonio will usher in a new mayor, Greg Brockhouse.    


The Big Loser


What does history teach us?    Going back to the 1995 General Election until May 4, 2019 results, the person who had the most votes in the general election ALWAYS lost the run-off.    Kay Turner wins General Election…but loses to Bill Thornton in 1995.  Kay Turner wins popular vote in 1997 election…but loses to Howard Peak by 14%.   Julian Castro wins general election votes in 2005, then loses in run-off to Phil Hardberger by 3%.  In 2015, Leticia Van De Putte earned more votes in the General Election, only to be beat by Ivy R. Taylor by 3% in the run-off.  Our current mayor, Ron Nirenberg, was trailing after the general election by 5% and won the run-off over Ivy Taylor.   On Saturday, Mayor Ron Nirenberg fared more than 3% more votes than Councilman Greg Brockhouse.   History supports that more than 24% of the new voters who will crash the polling sites in June, that didn’t vote so far, will vote for change yet again.   This is why, despite his personal effort, Ron Nirenberg may be the biggest loser.  


The Big Winners


In District 2, the front two candidates, as the SA Observer called it, were Keith Toney and Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan.  Toney seized 27% of the vote over the Express News endorsed Andrews-Sullivan who earned 21% and just edged out on the second-place position over Denise Gutierrez-Homer who earned 20% of the vote.


The SA Observer was invited and attended the Toney Watch Party organized by Gigi Hughes and Dr. Latronda Darnell-Harris at Tony G Restaurant.   The community celebrated Toney’s victory including current D2 Councilman Art Hall, former Councilman Mario Salas, John Sanders and Joe Webb, Texas State Representative Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, former Texas State Representative Laura Thompson, Businessmen Joe Linson, Frank Dunn, John Owens, James Mynart and Charles Williams,  Businesswomen Beverly Watts-Davis, and Neka Cleaver,  Hays Street Bridge Restoration Group Liz Franklin and community activist Nettie Hinton, Dr. Latronda Darnell-Harris, Gigi Hughes, past D2 Council candidates Aubry Lewis, Tyrone Darden and Dori Brown, Campaign Manager Ken Lowe, Campaign Treasurer Camille Padonu, Rev Patrick Jones and Rev CJ Littlefield,  Fair Contracting Coalition’s Jane Gonzalez, Cecilia Castellano, and Christopher Herring, My Brother’s Keeper SA participant Damon Nolen and Neighborhood First Alliance’ Alana Bell.  


Toney told the audience with his wife by his side, “Thank-you to all of you who believe in Team Toney!    I am prepared to lead District 2 and bring the experience necessary to deal with the major challenges facing our community.  We really cannot have rookie mistakes (referencing political neophyte Jada Sullivan-Pittman), our community is being stolen from under our noses.  We need your vote in June!”  


After review of Jada Andrews-Sullivan Facebook video of her watch party Tuckers Cozy Corner, she thanked Lou Miller, who serves as her campaign treasurer.  Mr. Miller previously ran for Texas House District 120 and was the senior advisor to Mayor Ivy Taylor at district 2 and mayoral levels.




The San Antonio Independent School District (SAISD) race showed three overall victors – Alicia Monica Perry, District 2, Patti Radle, District 5 and Christina Martinez, District 6.  Perry, who earned the Teachers Union endorsement, earned 65% of the vote.   If Perry’s performance as a Trustee matches her campaign hustle, she may be a very formidable future political candidate within District 2 and the City of San Antonio. 


In the City District races, all the incumbents put up sizeable votes to avoid run-offs with the exception of District 2 (Eastside), 4 and 6 (Westside).  Their voters are being asked to return to the polls to cast their vote.    These communities are historically the districts most left behind as the city of San Antonio is on the nation’s top “Economically Segregated Cities in the United States”.   For Nirenberg, this combination couldn’t be good as his council members are not going to work the polls to advance one candidate over the other in such a close race without jeopardizing future cooperation if a new mayor is named.


The communities left behind don’t feel allegiance to Mayor Nirenberg and voted against the former City Manager Sheryl Sculley (and really former Mayor Phil Hardberger who supports both).  


Councilman Brockhouse says, 

"It’s time to return the City to the people who I grew up with in San Antonio.   We have had outsiders manipulate our home for too long.    I have lived my entire life in San Antonio and even served my nation as a part of Military City USA.    I’m proud to be the change agent to ensure we pay attention to our entire city and not just one side of the city that is more affluent and wealthier than the other parts.   I feel comfortable with being a Mayor of the people… we all must be able to get up and have a quality of life that is decent and respectable.    This is why I was very disappointed that our Mayor failed to attend debates and community forums on the East Side, West Side and South Side nor did you see his campaign materials in these areas.   He’s very comfortable leading the privileged few.   My record on City Council supports I want to end economic segregation, enable small businesses to grow with our city's growth, ensure educational opportunities are improved for all, and build a robust transportation infrastructure with affordable housing that will meet the projected population growth.    I’m the only candidate remaining that stands up for our faith based centers ensuring political discrimination doesn’t occur based on what we celebrate and what we believe.”  


The run-off will be held on June 8, 2019.



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Our Clients

Web Design by JTARA

 2019 Publishing Company

© 2023 by "This Just In". Proudly created with